CARDS CARDS CARDS! FINAL FOUR BABYYYY!!!

 

Ok, it’s 1:37am and I need to be in bed asleep as I have a big day of cheering for my Louisville Cardinals in tomorrows NCAA Final Four game against…… who?  Yeah, our ARCH RIVAL University of Kentucky!!!  Ahhh I still can’t believe it’s happening!!!

I’m like a little kid on Christmas Eve..  I’m so excited for tomorrow and I just can’t seem to will it to get here any more quickly.. but I can’t fall asleep either.

So I blog.

As a KY transplant to Los Angeles… the only way I can describe it to my LA friends in terms that they would understand is that it’s equivalent to the USC vs UCLA rivalry.  The all look at me like “calm down” when I go on about how big a deal this match up is, then I give that analogy and the lightbulb appears over their head and they’re like “Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh ok, I get it”

There have been all kinds of Facebook posts, Tweets, blogs, newspaper articles, broadcast news stories, etc about this game.  I’m ashamed to be so amused by this one… but I can’t help it, these two fans are hilarious!  They remind me of Morgan Freeman and Jack Nicholson in The Bucket List.  Take a look: http://www.wkyt.com/wymt/home/headlines/Fist_fight_between_UK_and_U_of_L_starts_during_dialysis_treatment_144445985.html?mobile=yes&device=iphone

However, I will say that I agree with some Facebook posts I’ve seen from people who are a bit put off by some overzealous fans who take things a bit far…. beyond friendly competition (because frankly.. for many, it’s not friendly at all) and lose sight of the idea of making jokes and taking jabs “all in good fun.”   To me that’s the point of it all…. to be passionate for your team and to have FUN in all of this.

Don’t get me wrong… during actual game time , I’ll be serious as all get out and  screaming and carrying on, and really unhappy if Birdnation doesn’t emerge victorious… but life will go back to normal when I get back into my car.

What’s funny is that I wasto attending the University of Kentucky before deciding to head to Louisville.  I’d grown up and gone to high school in Northern KY and really didn’t have much allegiance to one over the other even though the rest of my high school seemed to graduate and migrate to UK in droves.   I’m not gonna lie…. it was all about the Benjamins.  Who was going to pay up.  Lol   I applied for scholarships to both schools, got a response from UK, had my bags halfway packed, then got a letter from UofL offering a little more cash so….. UofL it was!   …and no regrets!  I’m so glad I wound up in the Derby City.  It has been so good to me since the day I arrived and I’ve met (and kept) so many wonderful people in my life that I’d never have encountered had I not been there so I’m glad.

Blah, blah… anyway… I’m getting sleepy, must konk out so I can scream loudly tomorrow (er.. today)

Say it with me….. “Ahhhhhhh C!  A!  R!  D!  S!   CARRRRDDDSSS!!!!” 

‘Night all….  Dream red dreams  xox

~Julie

~ by julieisabelle on March 31, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
